Tool Chest-The Interior

Today I started picking away at the interior of the chest…been slow going because I’m not sure yet how I want to configure it, but I installed the divider for the saw till for starters. More stopping and staring than anything. I’m not sure yet if I want to put the dividers in it to hold each saw in position, or leave it open for future changes, all my saws have protectors over the toothline so there won’t be any damage that way.

I also screwed the cleats on the bottom of the chest to raise it off the floor approx. 3/4″ away from any dampness, thanks to Chris and his ongoing basement reno for the scrap 2X4 I planed and used for the cleats.

Here’s a pic of where I am so far…IMG_1741[1]IMG_1738[1]Jointer planes and shooting plane will go in the bottom of the chest along with my Stanley No.45 plow. Also my brace and canvas roll of augers, as well as my leather chisel roll and wood whacker.

On the other side the saws…a 28″ Shurly and Dietrich miter, a couple of Veritas dovetail saws and a rip filed Disston No.4  12″ backsaw. Also in the chest is a decidedly non vintage piece…a tensioned Nobex miter box saw with the optional Japanese Ikeda blade that…frankly, cuts like corn through a goose. And of course a copy of the classic ATC for your reading pleasure.

As far as the top floors, I haven’t decided whether it’s gonna be 2 or 3 sliding trays. Lots of winter left yet tho…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love the Eastwing hammer, too! Looking great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

