Hybrid Dutch/Six Board ToolChest

Untitled

For some time I have been interested in building myself a toolchest for my hand tools…but could never come up with a design I liked. While screwing around with SketchUp this morning I had the idea to combine the slanted lid of the Dutch Toolchest with a simple Six Board Chest. And here is the result…a hybrid Dutch/Six (Seven?) Board Chest.

I actually like the lines of this, and while I managed to delete it off SketchUp before I saved it, I did manage to do a screenshot to preserve the image. I’m sure this has been thought of before, but this is the first that I have seen like this. As far as what I would like for an interior layout I’m not sure…I haven’t gotten that far yet, but I would imagine planes and saws in the bottom with smaller items in sliding trays over top and some shelves/trays on the back wall of the chest for layout tools, chisels etc.

In my mind, pine is my material of choice with fancy wrought hinges and side handles and the sides dovetailed to the narrow top board for a little flash, and square cut nails and rabbet joints everywhere else. I could build a fancy dovetailed chest but feel like something more utilitarian. I wonder if this style of chest would be any more/less efficient than a traditional English or Dutch chest in use…maybe someday I will find out. For now I am just in the daydreaming phase, but this is my favorite to date. If you have thoughts/suggestions feel free…

 

2 thoughts on “Hybrid Dutch/Six Board ToolChest

Leave a Reply

