A Little Shopping…

Happy New Year All! Thanks to all my subscribers who supported me in the last month or so of 2013 while I got my blog off the ground.

My wife and I went to the city today…think she was feeling shack-happy after the blizzard yesterday and wanted to get out and about for the day…plus, we both had gift cards from Christmas burning holes in our purses, er…pockets. She was on the hunt for clothes, and I was on the hunt for Lee Valley…

I picked up the new 25 1/2″ long Veritas Planing Stop. I will need to drill some holes in the bench, but thats ok if it makes work easier and more stable…she’s no beauty queen anyway.IMG_0688[1]Also picked up the Perfect Pattern Handled Chisels by Chestnut Tools. I don’t know for sure how these will fare out, I haven’t been able to find a review of them. I am thinking they will be great for trimming dovetail baselines, etc. as the flats on the sides of them are very narrow compared to most chisels, allowing you to pare right into the corners of the tails. I figured I would give them a try anyway…also interested in how well the will hold an edge, considering the blades are 440 stainless steel. They’s purty too!IMG_0684[1]Here you can see how narrow the flats on the sides are…IMG_0685[1]I plan to review these once I get a chance to try them out in the shop, if the temperature ever gets above -20 degrees celsius for a couple of days. Stay tuned…

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Matt Rae says:

    Looking forward to hearing about the plane stop.

    Like

    1. sswantee says:

      Looking forward to trying it out Matt. I will post a review once I get the chance to.

      Like

  2. Steve,

    Gonna be nice here this week, should have waited, roads still are not clear here today. You will like those chisels, have had set since they came out, very comfortable to use.

    Rich

    Like

  3. sswantee says:

    Thanks Rich…it was a pretty crappy drive yesterday for sure. Supposed to really warm up tomorrow!

    Like

  4. David says:

    Any thoughts on these chisels? How have they held up? Are they worth purchasing?

    Like

    1. sswantee says:

      Hi David,
      The edges seem somewhat prone to crumbling at the current angle when chopping end grain. I bought them for dovetailing, but have not used them a great deal, as I did not have them when I made the dovetailed keepsake box. The sides are almost completely angled, with only a very small flat, so my thought was they would be excellent for chopping/trimming tails. I am going to hone them at a higher angle and see how they perform. I had forgotten I had promised a review of these, so I need to get busy! Check back within the week and I promise a review!

      Like

Leave a Reply

